Did Matthews, who was called out on a 'time out,' appeal the decision?

Former West Indian cricketer and commentator Ian Bishop has claimed that during the match between Bangladesh and Sri Lanka, Angelo Mathews appealed to the Sri Lankan captain, Shakib Al Hasan, to reverse a ‘time out’ decision. An ICC video has been shared in which commentator Ian Bishop is explaining that Sri Lankan cricketer Angelo Mathews made an appeal to Bangladeshi captain Shakib Al Hasan to reverse the decision, but Shakib denied it.

Later, on-field umpires Marais Erasmus and Richard Illingworth asked Shakib if he wanted to withdraw the appeal, but the Bangladeshi captain declined.

The controversy arose when Angelo Mathews came onto the field for batting after the dismissal of Sadeera Samarawickrama. However, he couldn’t face the first ball within two minutes due to a helmet issue, and Bangladesh appealed for an ‘out.’ Upon Shakib Al Hasan’s appeal, the umpire, after a lengthy discussion, sent Angelo Mathews back to the pavilion without facing a ball.

Leave a comment